Parenting Lessons from the Campground

I don’t know if I’ve ever told you this…

But I hate camping.

I enjoy a clean, comfortable bed with a toilet and shower within 10 feet of my bed. I like carpet, a television, and electricity.

You can have zero of these things when you go camping. Unless you have a beautiful RV, but that’s another story for another place and I’m not going to get into it now!

The problem with being a person that hates camping is living with a person that works for a camping company… and also enjoys camping. We’ve got tents, coolers, sleeping bags, flashlights, lanterns, grilling utensils galore in my basement and in the garage. It’s a smorgasbord of gear. Which would be cool…

If I loved camping.

Which I do not.

But what I have realized in the short 28 years I have been on this Earth and the past 10 that I have spent loving this man that loves camping, is that sometimes, you have to do things that you don’t want to do.

So I put on my big girl pants (as well as packed a few bags) and we went camping.

We drove up to Duluth because we had heard nothing but great things about it. It sits right on the edge of Lake Superior (the largest of The Great Lakes – there’s your history lesson for the day). There is also alot of other intriguing things about Duluth… this I know because my husband did some ‘reading up’ on this city and gave me a dissertation on the metropolis so I would be ‘in the know’.

I would tell you about it, but I don’t remember much about what he said!

We arrived at our destination and Matt set up camp while Sloane and I watched. Well, she played… I watched.

After wandering around our surroundings…

We drove into Duluth to do a little sight seeing.

 

We eventually headed back to our campsite to really begin the camping experience, which included attempting to get a baby to bed at a decent time while fireworks are going off and kids are running around screaming and some drunk kids two tents down are laughing their bloody heads off.

It also included eating hot dogs without condiments so we put baked beans on top of them instead, corn on the cob without butter and salt and the little sticks to hold on to the corn, and beer.

Because we needed it!

After driving Sloane around to get her to fall asleep, getting her to fall asleep, her waking up when we got back to the campsite, putting her down on the air mattress in hopes she will fall back to sleep and that not happening for a good 45 minutes, Matt and I finally were able to sit by the fire, relax and enjoy the camping life.

It was shortly after this picture was taken and we heard the neighbors to our left kicking a bottle around and laughing hysterically that we realized… maybe camping wasn’t such a good idea… with a baby, atleast.

In fact, Matt’s exact words were, “We do some stupid shit sometimes.”

After laughing at his comment and really pondering it, I had to admit that he was right.

This ‘stupid shit’ that he is referring to really is all post-baby. What he meant to say was “We do stupid shit (with our baby) sometimes.”

His examples were driving through blizzard conditions in Chicago to try and get back to Minneapolis and our camping excursion.

In our defense though, we had no idea the power of snow before that blizzard. We now understand that the friendly snow we grew up with in Kansas is not the same kind of snow up North.

But also, this ‘stupid shit’ we have done is all done with a good heart. I guess we are trying to expose Sloane to everything we can – even as a baby!

We made it through the night and was up bright and early. The only setbacks in the morning were the bathrooms (I almost threw up while brushing my teeth – it was bad!) and the forgetting of the pie grilling plate to make breakfast.

Which meant we had to pack up early (too bad!) and head for town to find some food (my version of camping!). We drove up a highway that runs along Lake Superior and it was absolutely beautiful! We got out to take some pictures and feel the water (that was freezing!) and then headed back to town for lunch at a yummy restaurant overlooking the lake.

All in all, we survived our first camping trip, had a great time with each other and definitely have stories to tell.

And in the end, that’s what it’s all about, right?

But those bathrooms were deathly

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Parenting Lessons from the Campground

  1. Michelle B

    You were making memories!

  2. Jenna

    I just love you guys … I’m cracking up at Matt’s comment.

Leave a Reply

