Lesson Learned

Just over a month ago, Sloane was still opening her mouth wide for the newest solid food to add to her palette. And most of that solid food ended up covering her entire bib. Every once in awhile, a smidge of what was going in the mouth would go down the hatch, but for the most part, I was cleaning up what I was trying to stuff in.

Fast forward to now and it seems that the girl can’t get enough of the food. In fact, I believe she is yelling at me when I have not shoved another spoonful of squash (our current dinner food) into her extremely wide-open mouth.

It’s like she’s saying, “MOMYOU’RETAKINGTOOLONGGIVEMEFOODNOW!” All in one breath (or scream).

It’s at times like these that I try to have a teachable moment.

“Sloane, we really need to work on our patience. I am getting the food to you as fast as I can. Take a friggin’ chill pill.”

OK – so maybe Mom needs to learn how to use her words.

Anyway, today was the first day that she had finished everything in her bowl, only to seem to really want more. The screaming was kind of what tipped me off. And so I gave in.

I gave her a bit more than her usual amount and it seemed to make her happy.

All is well in the world!

So off we go to give her a bath, put on her PJs and what seemed like a good thing at the time came spewing out of her mouth and all down my freshly laundered sweatshirt.

Huh.

Alright, alright, I get it.

Never give in to your child. Not as an infant. Not as a teenager or an adult. Or you’ll get barfed on.

Lesson learned.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Lesson Learned

  1. Theresa

    But she’s so cute….How can you not give in and let her have what she wants??

  2. Teresa

    I think we have all eaten that laaast slice of pizza and lived to regret it 😉 Can’t blame a girl for loving something that is soooo good!

  3. Aunt Sally

    I love all these pics of her! Can’t wait to see her (and you) in a few weeks!!

  4. Jenna

    Aww! That face … it’s gotta be hard to deny it!

  5. She is so precious! I’d give in to her demands again and again!

Leave a Reply

