Looking at Things in a Different Way

Last week, I started putting Sloane in her crib for naps during the day. Last week was also when I made an attempt to start a nap routine with her.

And to top it all off, last week was the week we decided we would try putting Sloane in her crib at night.

Yes, there was alot of ‘new’ packed into last week.

Moving her into her crib for naps was no big deal. I was glad to actually put her in a bed when she fell asleep rather than the couch or her lamb chair. But moving her into her crib for the night was a different story.

Where the heck did the past three months go? Didn’t we JUST bring her home from the hospital? Wasn’t I just buying a preemie nightgown because she was so teeny tiny? Please don’t tell me that tomorrow I’m going to wake up and she’s going to be talking back to me! I won’t be able to handle it!

On night one of crib sleeping, I put her in her crib, turned on her Sleep Sheep and monitor and slowly walked away. I went up to bed, checked her out in the video monitor… and started to cry.

While my husband tried to console me, I looked up to see that my favorite movie was on TV.

Father of the Bride.

My favorite of all favorite movies ever.

I’ve seen this movie so many times I can quote the entire thing, line by line… which I usually do. I dreamed of my wedding being EXACTLY like Annie Banks McKenzie’s (and I did go as far as having a string quartet that played the same music!). I’m still waiting on a future home that will look just like George Banks’ home.

Matt has most definitely had his fill of this movie as well. A couple can’t be together for 10 years and NOT see each other’s favorite movies numerous times (I have no qualms with watching Top Gun… that was Tom Cruise at his best – pre-crazy!).

Neither of us had seen Father of the Bride since Sloane arrived and though I still quoted the entire thing, Matt was paying a bit closer attention to it than he used to.

Last time he had seen this movie, he didn’t have a daughter.

What I realized while we were watching was that this movie took on an entirely different meaning to him. Everything that George Banks talks about are now his fears.

At one point, George says this, “I was like an old shoe. The kind we manufacture and get all excited about, then after a few years discontinue. That was me now. Mr. Discontinued.”

Matt looked at me and said, “I don’t want to be Mr. Discontinued!”

So… even though we are only at month three and thinking that night time crib sleeping is a big hurdle for us, we are only at the beginning of our many hurdles.

It looks like one of Matt’s hurdles will be figuring out how to raise a daughter and realize that at some point, she will like boys, date, and eventually get married.

I can handle this… but since Matt says she’s never getting married, I think he has a way to go before he’ll be able to handle it.

Luckily, we’re only at the beginning. We’ve got a lot of years to go!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Looking at Things in a Different Way

  1. This almost brought a tear to my eye. How sweet. And yes, it does go like that. Next thing she’ll be doing is rolling over and crawling! Enjoy the sweet moments…along with the ones when you want to pull your hair out! 🙂

  2. Jenna

    Aw, I love it. Better not watch FOB2!

Leave a Reply

