We’ve Got a Howler, Folks!

Over the past few days, I have noticed a few slight changes in my dog.

His whining has increased. I blame my brother for allowing him to be inside his house the entire time we were in Manhattan. Since Wrigley very rarely gets to be inside at our house, it was a treat for him! Unfortunately since our return, his whining has indicated to me that he feels he should be allowed inside at our house all the time as well.

I don’t think so, man! Atleast not until the temperatures reach the actual cold mark.

Secondly, he has started howling.

Yes, folks… We’ve got a howler on our hands.

I have no idea where he has picked this up from… or what it means for that matter!

Of course to me, his best friend, I feel like I am depriving him of enough one-on-one time, so I immediately go outside and play fetch with him.

One cannot do this all day though… especially one whose feet grow exponentially after being up and walking around for more than 10 minutes.

Matt seems to think that he is just reminiscing about his times with his old pal, Bob. Bob the basset hound, which are known for their howling.

I don’t know many golden labs that are known for howling.

So… I’m not sure what the howling means. I’m not sure if I should be concerned or chalk it for him just being a dog and still adjusting to his surroundings.

But I’ll let you all decide… I introduce to you Wrigley, the Howling Labrador!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “We’ve Got a Howler, Folks!

  1. mp

    Allyson… I think the “dog whisperer” would tell you that you are rewarding Wrigley for his howling by going out to play with him… and that you should only play with him after behavior that you find acceptable so he associates the two : )

Leave a Reply

