Etsy Finds of the Week

Hey Life of Al readers! I’m Taryn. I normally sit in my own corner of the internet over at A Peine For Your Thoughts (that’s Pie + Knee = Peine), but Allyson has been gracious enough to have me over to her corner today so that I can share some of my favorite Etsy finds with you while she unpacks boxes and hangs pictures. I thought about offering to help with her boxes, but then I thought, that’s not what she really wants. What she really wants is for someone to sit in their big chair in Houston and write on her blog. That would be way more helpful! I’m all about being helpful. So let’s get started, shall we?

Let me start by saying that I am a seller myself on Etsy, though I’m not here to promote my own shop. (Cinnaberry Children’s Clothing & Accessories) But I want to show you that I can be completely unbiased about Etsy, in spite of my obvious allegiance, by telling you there is some terrible, terrible crap to be found, and purchased, on the Etsy site. For example, this  Sterling Silver and Four Human Teeth Knuckle Ring can be yours for a mere $930.

Pay your bills, or buy a knuckle ring filled with other people’s molars. These are the tough choices Etsy will force you to make, friends. Proceed with caution.

Now that I have my disclaimer out of the way, you can really believe me when I show you some of the good stuff. Since Allyson is all set to birth a baby girl child, I wanted to start with a shop that I have admired for its supreme cuteness and its fantastic creativity. Obviously babies must be clothed. So why not clothe them in something like this from  Bambina Mia?

I hope you all know what movie this is from. If you don’t, I’m worried about our friendship.

If leg lamps aren’t your style, I’m sure Mr. T is. This one is appropriately titled,  HYPERLINK “” “I pity the drool.” Puns and puns of fun!

Let’s move on from all this preciousness, shall we? Because we know Allyson doesn’t just want baby things in her life. She needs house things too! For her new house! I am personally terrified of painting anything inside my own home. I know some girls who will just change the color of their dining room on a whim, but I’m not one of them. Change terrifies me. I want to know that we can make everything go back to the way it was before! I already committed to my husband, what more do you want from me?

The obvious answer to these problems is therapy. Or, WALL DECALS! Etsy is such a fun resource for unique and interesting wall decals. They spice up any room in your house but they’re not permanent! Like wash-out hair color!

Here is one of my favorites from  Nouwall:

Don’t have a solid green wall like this in your house? Stuck with all white, or beige, or taupe? Don’t worry!  This decal comes in any color or size you choose.

Decals are also fun ways to sass up a baby’s room without the commitment of becoming Picasso for a weekend and creating a painted tree yourself. And let’s be honest:  if you’re like me, that painted tree will come out looking like the baby drew it all by itself anyway. I like  this from  Décor Designs.

Since Allyson will be in a new city, meeting new people, she’s going to need some fancy cocktail party dresses. Yeah, that’s not the way I meet new people either, but let’s give Allyson a reason to need  this dress, from one of my very favorite stores, Audrey and Grace, OK?

Every vintage reproduction dress in this shop is handmade just for you! I think this is what it’s like to be Oprah. Except, you’ll have to pay for the dress yourself. Unless you also have a super-popular daytime talk show on which to promote your new dress. Ah, well. Them’s the breaks.

That’s it for this week’s edition of Etsy Finds! Your best pal Allyson will be back next week, so you’ll not have to suffer through any more of my drivel. Thanks for hanging out with me and have a great week!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Etsy Finds of the Week

  1. Jenna

    Yay, Taryn! My Wednesday would not have been complete without some Etsy in it. Good times!

Leave a Reply

