Cheer Dance 2010 Complete: Check!

So… per my yearly ritual, I spent the past three months of my life working with my high school cheer squad on a dance to perform at a home game towards the end of the season.

I really do enjoy it – I love to dance, I love cheerleading and since I knew I’d be spending a lot of time at Sedan High School basketball games because of my brother-in-law coaching, I thought I might as well have something good to watch! 😉

The girls are pretty entertaining. Most practices they were ready to learn… some practices that was not the case and I couldn’t believe I had wasted an hour and a half of my life driving to Sedan when the care was not there.

But… they are high schoolers. What the heck did I expect?!

I’ve worked with a few of these girls since they were junior high cheerleaders and my mom was their sponsor. A few of the girls were in the second grade class I was a student aide for my senior year… which just makes me feel old. And then two of them were probably not even alive when I cheered in high school… OK, that is an exaggeration, but it definitely feels like that!

Last night was the grand finale of our three months of hard work. I sometimes think I get a bit more nervous than they do and I’m not doing anything, but filming!

They were great though!! Unfortunately, my video is fuzzy and did not capture the awesome faces they were making – all I asked before they went out on the floor was that they smile and enjoy it because this was the last time they would ever have to do this dance! And they did just what I asked…

I also asked them to grunt like they’ve never grunted before (which you will hear in the video) and they did as told!

Anyway, for your viewing pleasure …. the Sedan High School Cheerleaders.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Cheer Dance 2010 Complete: Check!

  1. Aunt Sally

    Looked great! Was that “I want to take a ride on your disco stick”??? Is that rude or is it just me?!!

  2. Jenna

    Oh my goodness: SO cute! I do wish I could have seen Sarah’s face especially … love her.
    I’m just in awe of you and how you come up with this stuff. You’re good! Promise me you will find a school in Minnesota to choreograph for?!?!

  3. Steph

    You’re so good! The only thing that would have made that better is if you were out there w/them!

    I can’t believe the school superintendent let you get away with using that Lady Gaga song… 🙂

Leave a Reply

