Recap of Weekend

I just want to pat myself on the back because …. I KEPT A SECRET!

I know a few of you out there thought that it couldn’t be done… but it could and it did!

Lauren’s surprise birthday party occurred Friday night and went on without a hitch.

Well… sort of.

I had been planning this surprise party for about two months. The party in itself was a surprise, but the other BIG surprise of the night was going to be the return of my brother. We had been telling Lauren for awhile that he wasn’t going to be able to make it when in reality, he had a flight booked and would be in Manhattan by Friday afternooon.

Well… Thursday afternoon, I get a text from him that says, “Sister, I have some sad/bad news about this weekend.” All I can think is that he never really booked his ticket and now that the ticket is $1,001, he is not going to be able to come.

I call him with the intention of immediately yelling at him… when he tells me he was sick and might have swine flu.

REALLY?!

Yes, really.

The good news was that he did not have swine flu, the bad news is that there was no way he was really going to be able to come to the party. Swine flu or no swine flu, just flu.

I was very, very, very (very very very) bummed, as was my mom. As was my dad, I think… but he emailed me instead to say, “You’ve planned a great weekend! It will be great!” Thanks for always trying to be the optimistic one, dad!

So, we persevered and moved on from the sadness… we still had a party to plan!

Matt, Michael and I left for Manhattan at 5 on Friday to try and get to Aggieville and start reserving seats. Note to everyone reading this blog and planning a surprise party in Aggieville: Don’t do it when one of the busiest times of the year is Homecoming! I knew this two months ago, but somehow felt like I could Moses. He parted the sea, I thought I could part the crowds and find five open tables.

Nice try, Clark!

After an attempt to get in at the bar I had originally planned to have the party at, we made a stop next door to find it completely open. So… after careful consideration, the party was moved there with frantic texts being sent to anyone and everyone.

People continued to arrive, as did phone calls from Lauren… that had to be ignored.

party

At around 8:30, I get a text from one of her friends saying they are on their way. Word is spread and the waiting game began.

Finally, after having to shove her through the door, the birthday girl arrived.

 

party2

After getting over being mad at us for not answering our phones all night, and after suppressing the tears, she made her rounds to give hugs to the many that came to celebrate!

doty

Yay for Mr. Doty!

jessen

High school friends!

After explaining to her that the biggest surprise of all … the return of Jord to Manhattan … had gotten sick, I forced her to sit down and read his blog post dedicated to her, which by the way STILL makes me laugh out loud every time I read it.

jord

The remainder of the night was basically a blur. My good Kappa pals showed up, we made our way to many bars, Travis was in a dance-off, and we stayed up until 2 a.m. (WOWWWW!).

All in all, I’d say that it was a successful surprise!

I have no idea how I was ever doubted on keeping secrets. 😉

The Birthday Girl and her Old Sister

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

