An Ode to the Birthday Girl

This is my first-ever attempt at a poem. So bear with me … I only do this for really special people! 🙂

Little Lauren Hills, My how time has flown.
Look oh look at how you have grown!
You started out as a chubby blonde baby,
But I  had no (serious) doubt that you would grow up to be a mighty fine lady.

I remember the day you were born, finding grandma asleep in our parents bed.
“My mom, how you have aged!” “No, Allyson, it’s Verna Dean!,” Grandma said.

First to church, then to the hospital, dressed to the nines.
To welcome the third Hills child, one who would grow up to be divine.

Jord and I weren’t sure what to do with you at first.
Make a fort out of our new bunk beds or play with the newest addition?
The obvious choice would have been the fort…
But it was Lauren that stole our attention.

Time has moved quickly since those childhood days.
There’s been graduations, marriages, babies (not mine) and laughs.
I wish I could mold each memory into clay.
But since I’m not a sculptor or artist, just a communicator,
I will speak loudly and firmly just like Bill Hader.

To my baby sister, what a great ride it has been.
We are so proud of you and are so happy you are our kin.
Our lives would have been filled with so much bore,
If you had not graced us with your presence that Octo(bore).

Happy 21st Birthday to my roommate/my Maid of Honor/my best friend/my sister;
May the next 21 years be filled with love, laughter and no more weird blisters (long story).

Now for a birthday photo collage, if you will:

laur1

laur4

laur3

laur5

laur6

laur7

laur8

laur13

laur12

laur16

Laur

Happy, Happy, Happy Birthday to my baby sister! Seriously, words cannot describe how much I love you and how proud I am of you. The only other thing that would make this day perfect is if Jord was here – also, if Jord would take Bob back with him when he returned to Austin … but this is your day, I won’t speak of Bob again.

Cheers to Lauren!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “An Ode to the Birthday Girl

  1. Aunt Sally

    I can’t wait for your poem on MY birthday (Jan 23)! But until then, Happy Birthday Lauren!

  2. Jenna

    Cheers indeed!

  3. bunk beds are quite comfortable specially if you use them in a tightly packed room or in a limited spaced room –*

Leave a Reply

