It was Real.

My favorite sports are volleyball, cheerleading (don’t even fight with me on if this is a sport or not, I’ll beat you) and football.

College football to be exact.

Due to my lack in size and manliness, I was never able to play the sport, which probably made me love it even more. You know the saying, “You always want what you can’t have.”? For me, it’s “You love more what you could not play.”

It just so happens that my awakening to college football was when K-State was on the rise. Our football team was winning and if they lost, you were pretty sure that you would slip into a deep, dark depression.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Backtrack 30+ years….

My parents grew up in a time when K-State football was a ‘Oh, why the hell not!” activity.

What does this mean, you ask?

It means that K-State was unbelievably bad when they were in school. So bad that you could take coolers in to the stadium so you could booze and have something fun to do while at the games. Games were the afterthought. “Hey, I have absolutely nothing else to do with my life at this minute. Want to go to the football game?”

“Oh, why the hell not!”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Once I got into college, our football team was good. We had a moment of greatness in 2003 when we beat OU in the Big 12 Championship Game (one of the single greatest moments in my life). Not great as the past years. But good. They unfortunately got progressively worse as my graduation date loomed.

We lost our legendary football coach to retirement. We hired a new coach who seemed to be what we needed. We won a few games, but lost a few more. And we lost to KU repeatedly (which THAT in itself is enough to spiral you to that deep, dark depression I was telling you about).

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

In comes college football 2009.

You know it’s close when you google ‘ESPN College GameDay’ theme song to set as your ring tone.

You know it’s great when OU loses their first game of the season (Sorry Taryn – growing up a Wildcat, but only getting Tulsa stations who only talked about OU can drive a person mad… and you are a legit Sooner fan).

But you know it could be an interesting year for your team when the coach of three years is canned – with strings attached…  When the coach who retired decides to come back and coach… When you have issues beating Division I-AA schools.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Fast forward to October 10, 2009.

K-State travels to Texas Tech for their first Big 12 road game. Though I was trying to be optimistic, I knew that it would be a battle. I truly believed that my team would not travel to the pit of the earth (aka Lubbock, Texas) to just lie down and die.

I was mistaken.

Because that is exactly what they did. Total embarrassment.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Jump ahead one week to October 17, 2009.

This week, I was going to be very cautious with my feelings.

Last week, I was optimistic and got stomped on.

This week, I was going to just pray for the best.

And this week….. they were a new team. And I enjoyed EVERY second of it. Not just because they were finally winning. But because THIS is what football games were like during my ‘awakening to college football.’

They were fun and loud and the entire crowd was excited and enjoying the moment.

I had the pleasure of sitting with my sister on the ‘Old People’s Side’. We also had the pleasure of sitting in front of some interesting characters who drove us a bit insane – to be kind. We nicknamed them ‘Barb’ and ‘Frank’ because we did not want ‘Barb’ and ‘Frank’ to know that we were making fun of them the entire game while we yelled, “GEEZ! We’re looking for new seats at halftime to get away from the ‘Barb’ and ‘Frank’!” For all they knew, we were talking about the couple sitting in front of us, who Lauren spilled nacho cheese on (very reminiscent of my Kyle Olson fiasco, circa 2004).

'Barb' made it into our picture...

'Barb' made it into our picture...

Laur and I had quite a good time together (so I say) and though the temperature dropped into the 30’s and Lauren couldn’t feel her legs anymore (reminds me of Christmas Vacation: “Clark, Audrey can’t feel her legs.” “It’s all apart of the experience, honey!”), we still were able to jump and scream after every touchdown.

And there were many.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Fast forward to today. Two days past the magnificent game.

I am tired. My body hurts (I believe this to be because my husband and I were trying to out-handstand each other Saturday morning). But I will be going back for more this Saturday.

We’ve got a 21st birthday to celebrate – I can see the headlines now, “Third Hills Child Turns Legal Age; Aggieville Locks Up Shop”. Speaking of legal age… I met a few more of Lauren’s friends this weekend (and stood by a TKE  alumni tailgate – MANY familiar faces – ofcourse I don’t know any of their names, but I was sure that my pal Megan would know them all!). And they all thought I was her younger sister.

Now, I know (because I’ve been told a million times) that I should appreciate people thinking I’m young. But I don’t. When I’m 50, and Lauren is 44 and people think I’m younger than her, I will laugh, “Ha, ha, he, he” but at 27, it’s not cool.

It’s also Homecoming and…. the annual Kappa Pub Crawl.

Life will be bliss this weekend.

Until Sunday when I’m tired and my body aches because I’m old.

27 old.

Not 16 old.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

