Ashamed

I really try not to jump the gun.

I try very hard to contain myself.

I blame the weather.

Because I have been listening to Christmas music.

I KNOW! I KNOW! Stop yelling at me (Jenna)!

I must defend myself a bit though.

I listen to Pandora fairly regularly at work. I have quite a few ‘stations’ saved… Norah Jones. Matt Wertz. Pat Green. Anything to suit my mood that day at work.

Luckily for me, my office roommate and I have the same taste… in about everything. So if she has good music on one day, she’ll turn up her volume and we’ll go with that for the day. If I have good music on another day, vice versa.

Because of this chilly weather that swept through Wichita over the week (it was in the 40’s yesterday — :)) along with the cloudy skies, I have just been in a … wintery type of mood. And winter, to me, is Christmas.

I apologize for those who think I might have committed a venial sin by playing Christmas music.

But again, I must defend myself.

Because of the chilly weather, which puts me in a wintery mood, which reminds me of Christmas, I turned to Pandora to try and reciprocate my wintery mood.

One of my saved stations is the Vince Guaraldi Trio. Vince Guaraldi is best known for composing music for animated adaptations of the Peanuts comics strip, like ‘It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown’, ‘A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving’, and my favorite, ‘A Charlie Brown Christmas’.

41GJ2GVVM8L._SL500_AA240_

I LOVE this music! I think the fact that it’s a lot of piano and it’s very relaxing… and that it puts me in a great mood are what do it for me . Who wouldn’t want that?!

So… for the past three days, I have plugged in my headphones, turned on Pandora and listened to the Vince Guaraldi trio. I plug in the headphones because I’m partially ashamed that three-quarters of the music that will play is Christmasy… and one-quarter because I’m thinking my office roommate will think I’m a loon.

Now that I think about it, I shouldn’t expect Christmas music to immediately play. Vince Guaraldi had all kinds of different tunes for the animated shows. But… usually the only music that plays is related to ‘A Charlie Brown Christmas’.

Below is one of my favorite Vince Guaraldi tunes. I promise it is not a Christmas song… but it is a ‘wintery’ song. So, if you don’t think you can handle it, close my blog, step away from your computer slowly and pretend like you were never here.

Happy Cold Weather! 😉

Skating by Vince Guaraldi

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ashamed

  1. Taryn M. Peine

    I just made a Vince Guraldi Pandora station for myself! I don’t see anything wrong with Christmas music in October. I’m doing it to celebrate my neighbor, who has left his Christmas wreath up since last year. That means it’s ALMOST time for him to be in season again! Yay!

Leave a Reply

