Goodbye… For a Year

Goodbye Bristlecone... For now!

Goodbye Bristlecone... For now!

I think what I have learned from this entire house-selling process is… that Matt and I don’t have much patience!

We put our house on the market approximately a month and a half ago. We had two open houses, quite a few nibbles, two potential big bites… but in the end, no offers (not even from the couple I took the time to blog about!).

What we did get was an offer from a couple moving from California to Wichita (can you say ‘culture shock’) to lease our house for a year, with the potential for them to purchase it from us.

I have weighed the pros and cons of a lease on our house. My list was full of a few more cons than pros, but that’s because I was trying to play devil’s advocate. I honestly believe that if we let the house sit awhile longer, we would have been able to sell, but Matt honestly believes that this lease is the best option for us at this moment in time.

Tomato, tomahto.

The couple is moving next week so we must have everything completely out of the house, which now seems completely frightening to me. Where on earth are we going to put all of this stuff? We currently have two couches in our living room at Patty’s… and will need to add two more to that collection when we move over our sofa and loveseat from Bristlecone.

We also have a full bed (that belongs to a certain someone whose dog also happens to be living in my backyard – this certain someone also has not been updating his blog, which has been angering MANY unnamed individuals), a dresser, desk and a bookcase.  The old Allyson would start going into convulsions  pondering where all of this stuff will fit. But the new Allyson, the one who has had to let go of her ‘everything has a place’ mentality since moving into her mother-in-law’s house, will just deal with having four couches and two desks in the living room.

For now.

And for now, I will say goodbye to my home on Bristlecone. But not for good… atleast until this time next year. I do miss it at times, but I remind myself that I’m moving on to bigger and better things.

And to those of you that are thinking, “Yeah, you’re moving into your mother-in-laws”… I want you to remember that if you don’t have anything nice to say, then don’t say anything at all.

Sidenote: I was thinking the same thing… no worries!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

