Birthdays & Facebook

Why do these two things go together?

Because having Facebook on your birthday is the number one reason people should sign up for Facebook.

I got to work this morning, handed out my birthday treats (everyone’s own personal bag of Skittles with a note that read ‘Happy Birthday to Me! 🙂 Allyson’), got to my desk, read my ‘Twilight’ birthday card from the staff, and stared at the coffee cake that was sitting underneath the card (yum!), then logged on to my e-mail account.

Usually in the mornings, I have about 16 new e-mails to read – most are junk mail that are never read… but not this morning.

This morning, the morn of my 27th birthday, I had 40 new e-mails waiting for me. Thirty-seven of those were all ‘Happy Birthday’ messages from friends on Facebook!

Now, honestly… how could a person NOT enjoy that? I’ve literally been grinning from ear-to-ear because of these messages. Yes, some of these people I may not have talked to for 10 years, but I think that’s what makes it even more special. They could see the note that it’s my birthday and pretend as if they hadn’t seen it. But they took the time to click on my name and type me a message.

And I’m very appreciative!

So… birthday plans for today are as follows: deposit paycheck at lunch (getting paid on your birthday is a definite positive), go home and grab a bite to eat (I’m sure that Wrigley and Bob are preparing a hearty meal for me as I type), work until 5, home until 6:15, off to Newman volleyball (for the second night in a row), home by 9 to see my husband who has been gone since Sunday morning. Yes, it’s not the most exciting of birthdays, but the way I look at it is that I’m getting paid TWICE today – once for work and once for volleyball. WHO gets paid twice on their birthday (unless it’s a check in the mailbox from your grandma)?

I’d like to send a thank you to my aunt Sally for my ‘I Miss Manhattan’ t-shirt – luckily for me, this is also our official Kappa Pub Crawl t-shirt so not only is this my new K-State t-shirt for the year, but it will be seen in many pictures and probably make it to one bar in Aggieville before we all disperse to our other groups, which ALWAYS happens, at the pub crawl!

Anywho… Thanks for the birthday wishes! I’m hoping for big things in my year of 27. I asked staff members what happened when they were 27 (most are 40+). So far, one told me she just remembers drinking that entire year… I told her I’d start that on Friday. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Birthdays & Facebook

  1. Taryn M. Peine

    Happy Birthday! 27 is so fun. It’s not close to 30 AT ALL. 🙂

  2. How about blogs and birthdays? And phones and birthdays? Just trying to go through every possible medium. Anyway, happy birthday (again!)!!!

  3. Aunt Sally

    Hope you enjoy the t-shirt when it gets there! Maybe you can wear it when you go to NY and they will put your pic on their web site!!

Leave a Reply

