Where Does the Time Go?

Time flies...

Time flies...

Matt and I were about to fall asleep last night, when he mumbles, “We leave for London tomorrow, right?”

It was at that moment, at 11:43 pm, that I really realized I had been married for an entire year.

Yes, I was aware that it was my anniversary day… We had received numerous cards from friends and family (thanks to all!) prior to the day. Matt and I had talked about what we should do (dinner), what we shouldn’t do (buy gifts… Grrr!). But I just never fully comprehended that an entire year … entire year of marriage … had fallen in my lap.

So much has happened in the span of a year that it really feels like we should be about to celebrate our 3-year anniversary. New jobs, new homes, new roommate, a new, but old pet, financial happiness, yet financial difficulty, babies (not our own!), weddings, car loans, moves, trips, fights, makeups, lots of movie watching, and so much more.

We spent our 1-year anniversary like we would any other day… which seems about right, knowing Matt and I. We went to church downtown, to the Cathedral where our wedding ceremony took place. As I listened to the organist play, the same one that played at our wedding, I asked Matt if he the organist played music before the ceremony started last year. His response, “I have no idea!” My response: I can’t wait to see our wedding video – I can’t wait to actually see what my wedding day was like! 😉

After church, we stopped to grab me a coke, went home, where Matt changed and went to one of his project homes and I went to my favorite spot in the house, the couch in front of the TV, where I spent most of the afternoon watching Tiger let his 5th PGA Championship slip through his fingers to a very exuberant Korean! Matt finally got home around 6 and off to dinner we went.

Matt has wanted me to go to Bonefish Grill for quite some time… he kept telling me that it did not smell fishy and that they had other things on the menu, other than fish. I hate fish. I hate the smell of fish, so I believe that by me allowing my husband to enjoy his favorite restaurant in Wichita (one that I detest because of its primary menu item: fish) should give me three or four anniversary dinner picks of my choosing the next few years!

We ended the date portion of our evening by pretending we had lots of money (always fun to do, but then depressing in the end!) and looked at cars. I keep hoping that my dream of owning a new(er) car is in the near future… and by near, I mean in 4-6 years!

And to really finish the night off with a bang, we did the one thing we have been waiting to do since the day we got married…

We put our house on the market.

Yes, it only took us an entire year to complete everything that needed to be done to the Bristlecone house, and I’m sure there are still some small things that need to be done, but for the most part, it’s done.

I can only hope that we won’t be celebrating the selling of the house on our two-year anniversary.

Anyway… like I said, I have no idea where the time has gone. I told Matt that  I was afraid to fall asleep because knowing how fast time goes by and with the type of luck that I possess, I would wake up and be 80-years-old.

So what have I learned over the past year? I have learned that it is best not to sweat the small stuff (this is what I tell myself, but it is REALLY hard to live by!), if dishes aren’t put in the dishwasher immediately, they will still be waiting for you tomorrow (covered with ants probably, but they’ll still be there), Vampires do exist (thanks to Edward Cullen) and that even when you have been with the same person for eight years, you learn something new about them every day… I am lucky to have a husband who has been my best friend for such a long time.

Also that he has not tossed me to the curb, yet!

One year down… so many more to go. I wonder what year two will bring?!

Stay tuned.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Where Does the Time Go?

  1. Megan Little

    awww! happy 1 year!!! you are officially ready for many babies 🙂

  2. Taryn M. Peine

    Congratulations on making it a year! Tell your hubs you should never have to eat fish in a landlocked state 😉

  3. Megan

    So…not to be creepy, but I’m catching up on your last few months of blogs because I have apparently been too busy to keep up. Anyhow, I found it quite funny/ironic that you mention “I hope we are celebrating the selling of our house on our 2nd anniversary” and now that it’s December, it’s already sold! 🙂
    Happy belated Anniversary…and the selling of your house!

Leave a Reply

