Vacation is…

Much needed.

Everyone deserves a vacation.

I don’t care if you don’t get a paycheck, per se, but I’m sure there is always something in someone’s life that they need to run away from. Which is where vacations come in!

My reason for needing a vacation was simple. I was accomplishing squat at work. A month after Riverfest was complete, I could usually be found behind my computer, checking blogs (by the way, I felt better about not posting a blog last week since my mom said that Taryn hadn’t blogged at all last week… I thought to myself, “Ahh, Taryn and Drew must have went on vacation!” But to my surprise, I get on my computer this morning only to find a post from Taryn’s blog every day last week – mom was wrong and I’m feeling guilty!), checking e-mails, searching for the perfect house, checking e-mails again… It was the same routine for seven hours of my work day, every day.

Aren’t there work-related things you should be focusing on, Allyson?

Yes, yes there are.

Could I focus on any of these things while I knew six days of vacation were awaiting me?

No, no I could not.

My goal pre-vacation was to come back to work with a newfound sense of ‘focus’. Post-vacation goal, after being back at work for five hours, is to come back tomorrow with my newfound sense of ‘focus’!

Vacation took myself, my husband, my sister and parents 13-14 hours North (15-16 if you add in all of the stops and the ‘out of the way’ detour we took to get around rush-hour traffic in Chicago) to an area in Michigan called Silver Lake. I had been there two other times in my life, both before the age of 13. I must say, it’s amazing how things get alot smaller as you grow older.

Once we arrived to the lake, we went straight to the cottage where my aunt, uncle and cousins were staying – they were playing the game ‘Racko‘ when we got there, which only brought memories of my Grams back. She loved to play board games, card games with all of her grandkids and I loved to play Racko with her… the problem was that she ALWAYS won!

Anyway, I seemed to remember this place being alot larger when I was younger… The rooms, the furniture. But somewhere in between 1994-2009, everything diminished in size!

We made our way over to the cabin that we were staying in… we cracked up at the number of twin beds there were. Three bedrooms, two twin beds per room… except for one. One room had only a single twin bed in it, which ofcourse, we designated as Lauren’s room. There was a family tree that had been created on one of the walls… and it had grown in size since its creation in the early 60’s! It was pretty cool to see all of the people that were on this family tree… but only cool to see in the daylight. Lauren was pretty sure that once all the lights were out, that tree was going to come out out of the wall and strangle her with its 30 branches!

So we pushed her mattress in between mom and dad’s twin beds … and that is where she slept the remainder of our time in Michigan!

The weather was beautiful the entire time we were there… the only complaint I had was once we got there and pulled our bags down from the top of Matt’s Tahoe (we bought a canvas ‘topper’ to fit all of our bags in one car!), guess whose bags were wet?

Ofcourse they were mine – who else’s bags would get soaked?!!!

You can only imagine the fire coming from my ears, nose and mouth when I was hanging up all of my clothing that first evening. I promised everyone I would calm down by the next morning, which I did…

We went out on the boats, we climbed sand dunes, we drank beers, we ate food, we shopped, and we just hung out.

Safety first...

Safety first...

Dad's little friend...

Dad's little friend...

Alec's Creation -- Hills Hill

Alec's Creation -- Hills Hill

Prepping for the dune ride!

Prepping for the dune ride!

Laur, me and our pops

Laur, me and our pops

On the dunes...

On the dunes...

It was pretty wonderful!

It was also great to hang out with my uncle Blish and his family… they live in Minnesota so we are super lucky if we all get to see each other even once a year. His kids are always a bit hesitant with us at first (who wouldn’t be! 🙂 ), but we had them all on our good sides by the time we left. And I was glad Matt was there… he enjoyed hanging out with the boys. It gave him good reason to run as fast as he could down a super-steep sand dune — to say he could hang with a 10-year-old! 🙂 But in all seriousness, they are great kids and I wish that we didn’t live as far away from them as we do!

 

IMG_1299IMG_1345

Unfortunately, we were missing one significant part of our posse… Jord wasn’t able to make the trip due to the starting of his new job in Texas. There were frequent text messages sent back and forth as well as numerous pictures e-mailed to him. He also sent us numerous movie quotes to make it feel like he was there…

All in all, it was a great vacation. We spent Friday evening and Saturday morning in Chicago, which again, made Matt and I contemplate moving there (especially once I was mistaken for a local – made me feel so… cool. Yep, cool.). It’s our favorite city and we come up with all of these great ideas on why we should live there and how now is the time to do it… until we get back to Wichita, where life is just… simple. And easy. And even though I would love to be a ‘Chicagoan’, I’m too much of a simple and easy girl to give up having a big home and a backyard to a two-bedroom, 1/2 bath that is the size of my master bedroom closet.

IMG_1347

Chick-Ago

Chick-Ago

Thoughts of moving dancing in our heads!

Thoughts of moving dancing in our heads!

Call me crazy!

Anyway, good vacation. Good times. 

 

A little winky-wink...

A little winky-wink...

 

And goodbye from Chicago!

And goodbye from Chicago!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Vacation is…

  1. Jenna

    Oh, I’m so happy to see the photos … now I have to go look at the rest of them on facebook! SO glad you all had a great time!!

  2. Don’t worry, after consuming too much wine in Napa last week, I went on and on to Aaron about how cool it would be to move after being in Chicago one weekend, then San Francisco the next. The I woke up the next morning, and it suddenly made much less sense!

  3. I think moving to Chicago sounds like a FANTASTIC idea!!!!! 🙂 Or at least visiting once a month? Every other month?? I’ll leave that up to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

