Party Like it’s your 60th Wedding Anniversary

And I’m not even kidding.

I haven’t been to a dance party like this since my own wedding!

Now don’t laugh… But it was at Matt’s grandparent’s 60th wedding anniversary party!

I know what you’re thinking… Allyson, you wouldn’t know what a good dance party was if you were literally kicked in the face by Britney Spears herself. But it’s true!

We had been told that Jim and Donna, Matt’s grandpa and grandma, had requested a band at their party. Unfortunately, “the perfect band” couldn’t be found for this party, so the search for the perfect DJ ensued.

Sidenote: the DJ was nothing special, but he gave the 70+ crowd some tunes to really dig their heels in to… 🙂

There was quite a large gathering at this party… lots of people, lots of GREAT food, plenty of champagne, margaritas, wine and beer to please the local tomfooleries. Enough of everything to please the masses!

Yes, I had one of everything...

Yes, I had one of everything... And this was only one side of the table!

Matt, Michael and Adam were all to give speeches and I must say, I was quite impressed. Michael should be signed up immediately as a professional speech giver – the man can speak well and has his comical and emotional timings nailed to perfection! Matt spoke of how he had beef with his grandpa – he didn’t appreciate how he continued to show up Matt in the PDA department (it’s true – Jim and Donna are the CUTEST old couple ever… and I constantly ask Matt when we’ll get to be like that!).

Adam asked to go last... His 'Top 10 Reasons of Why my Grandparents are the Best' was a hit...

Adam asked to go last... His 'Top 10 Reasons of Why my Grandparents are the Best' was a hit...

Once speeches were given and most of the food had been eaten, the dance party kicked into full gear! Everyone cleared the dance floor and Jim and Donna… and off they went (Gramma D even brought her ‘special’ dancing shoes – basically her tennis shoes with 2-inch soles!). There were quite a few couples there that were ‘up there’ in age, but man… can they dance! I was in constant awe of them… and again asked Matt why we couldn’t be like that! Poor guy… got an earful all night! 🙂

Dancin' Fools

Dancin' Fools

All I can say is that 60 years of togetherness is a long time and for two people to be completely enamored with each other just as much today as they were 60 years ago, double-kudos to them! I love my husband just as much today as I did the day I married him, but we’re only talking 10 months here, people! 😉

To end the party was the annual Clark Family photo… they did this at their 50th Anniversary (which means Matt was 17 when they took this picture last – HA!). I was glad they let me slide in (PS. I didn’t know it was THIS special picture we were taking – I might have toned down the color of my shirt!).

The Clark's of 2009

The Clark's of 2009

And lastly… what’s a party without a picture of me, Matt and Michael, right?!

Another Christmas picture option for Patty!

Another Christmas picture option for Patty!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Party Like it’s your 60th Wedding Anniversary

  1. Jenna

    Ooh, I like your shirt! You pulled it off quite nicely! Glad you had a good time … but we still missed you in Chicago 🙂

Leave a Reply

