Long Time, No Post

I must apologize. This is very uncharacteristic of me to not post a blog in 10 days. But life has been busy.

Riverfest began on Friday, May 8 – so we are in Day 5 of the Festival. Tomorrow, I meet Pat Green (giddy) and then only 3 more days until the nine months of planning and nine days of events is complete.

Me and my buddy Dave, the Admiral

Me and my buddy Dave, the Admiral

In my personal opinion, I think it has been a great Riverfest so far. Since I’m a newbie, I don’t know much! Everyone else in the office, excluding office roomie Sherri, has made it through atleast three Festivals so they all have a pretty good scoop on how this Festival compares to others. Day 1 had us OVER capacity for the KANSAS concert (estimated 17-20,000 people), 60-80,000 people at the Sundown Parade (this number amazes me because where I’m from, if you can get 60 people down to watch a 10-minute parade, you’re doing good!) while overall, we had between 70-75,000 people roaming the Festival grounds at some point that day. To me, that sounds like a great first day!

My highlights of the Festival have been:

  • The amazing food at the food court (I have partaken in taco salad, a bodacious burrito from Tad’s Bodacious Burrito, a beef brisket sandwich,  a taco/enchilada and some Dippin’ Dots – not all at once)
  • People watching (there are some interesting people that come out for this Festival – take that for what you will)
They let ANYONE run in the River Run!

They let ANYONE run in the River Run!

  • Hanging out with the Operations group after-hours (these people volunteer for the entire Festival, usually giving up ALL vacation time only to not really vacation, but work to make sure the Festival is set up and moving along correctly)
  • The lead singer of KANSAS’s long hair slash bald spot
Check out that hair!

Check out that hair!

  • Meeting Everlife (Disney-type band) and completely understanding when they said they were hanging around for the Loverboy concert that night because their Dad LOVED them (I understood because I really didn’t know who Loverboy was because of my age – my 40-year-old coworkers were hurt that we didn’t know Loverboy!)
Linda, Evelife, Celia (recently joined the tie-dye gang) & Moi

Linda, Evelife, Celia (recently joined the tie-dye gang) & Moi

  • And listening to all of the great music!

Tomorrow, as you all have heard me talk about it numerous times, is the Country Concert with the Eli Young Band and Pat Green – I’m ecstatic! I only hope the weather cooperates – if it does, the crowd number will be large!

All-in-all, I’m just amazed to see everything come together. I stood in the back as the canon was fired, signalling the start of the River Run… and though, “MAN! All of the time and energy put into just this event… and it all comes together!” It’s pretty amazing!

Lastly, I want to thank Taryn of A Peine for Your Thoughts for the shoutout on her blog! If you don’t mosey your way over there after reading my blogs, I must recommend that you start doing it. She is a serious ‘pee your pants’ kind of funny person!!! My mom and I are avid readers and just recently, I could not help myself anymore and HAD to start commenting on her posts… My mom is still being a ‘fraidy cat and won’t comment. But it has become a topic of conversation when we are on the phone. “Mom, did you SEE the picture of Truman with the scarf ?!” or “Please tell me you read the post about Taryn baring all for the Jehovah’s Witnesses!”

If only I had known Taryn when she was a Bartlesvillian … I think we probably would have been good friends.  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Long Time, No Post

  1. Taryn M. Peine

    Thanks for the shout-out Allyson. Tell your mom I love comments!! 😉

  2. Jenna

    I love that it’s going well … wish I were there! Keep up the list of faves: I have a feeling tomorrow night will top it! Also: I’m so proud of your food choices!

Leave a Reply

