Weather Worrier

 

Bad Weather Reports

Bad Weather Reports

I do not like bad weather.

Never have.

Never will.

But for some reason, I’m still obsessed with watching weather reports on TV for three hours, turning on every radio in the house to listen to all stations driving thru the bad weather to report to their worried listeners and staring out the windows to watch for tornadoes (that I have never seen). 

Tonight, I had dropped Matt off at Firestone to pick up his car — he was going to a classmate’s house to work on a project for school. As I was driving the two-minute drive back to our house, the scary looking sky/cloud/rain mixture arrived and then came the sirens.

There are three things that I am absolutely terrified of (and have never really encountered): snakes, school shootings and tornadoes. 

So you can see how sirens would make me go coo-coo! 

As calmly as I could do it, I pulled the car in to the garage, told Wrigley to get inside, turned on the TV to get a quick report, found Matt’s iPod with his radio tuner, grabbed a pillow and blanket to cover myself when the tornado arrived, called Nicole to tell her to get  to her basement because the “tornado” was directly over Goddard (she didn’t answer any of my phone calls!), called my husband to ask how use his radio tuner and asked if he was OK, got pissed because he apparently forgot that one of my three things on my terrifying list is tornadoes and didn’t tell me everything would be OK and to just go sit in the basement (ass) and instead acted like the sun was shining and the birds were chirping outside (stupid), went to the basement bathroom and turned on the radio tuner, screamed at my dog because he was driving me CRAZY by sniffing me and trying to sit on me and running back upstairs (where the tornado was coming)…

Finally, I made the decision that I could carefully return upstairs to check the news. I immediately went BACK downstairs when the scary sirens came back on and Weatherman Dave on KSN was saying the tornado was coming straight for Maize (HELLO, I live in Maize – basically). 

I returned back upstairs shortly and decided to put my annoying dog BACK in the garage and to find that the weather reports had stopped and they had returned to regularly scheduled programming. 

So, I will return to my post at the window to watch for the bad weather that will return.

And Nicole just called… from DC. Guess she didn’t have to witness the ‘almost tornado’.

Now, if you will excuse me… I need to go and prepare my speech that I will calmly and rationally scream to my husband when he arrives home about being an ass in my time of terrified need.  

Enjoy the weather!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Weather Worrier

  1. Aunt Sally

    I’m with you girl! I hate bad weather and always have. It scares me to death. (I blame my mother, it scared her too). Take care and stay safe!

  2. Jenna

    Ah, college … when one of my purposes in life was to try and distract you from the TV/windows/radio when there was bad weather. I wish we were still near enough to take care of each other like that now!

Leave a Reply

