The Early Riser

Close to two weeks ago, my office roommate Sherri had told me about her upcoming workout… at 5 in the morning. She had checked into a cycling class at the Y, and the earliest class they had was at 5:15 a.m. She explained how she really wanted to try it because for her, it was easier to go and workout in the morning rather than after work since she has two little ones at home. 

At first, I laughed at her. The thought of getting up a minute after the hour of 4 in the morning seemed completely ludicrous. NO ONE should be up at that time of day! 

But after contemplating it, I realized that she was right. I HATE working out after work … when the day is over, I want to go home and be a bum in front of the TV. The flip side to this is that I love sleep — am I willing to give that up to lose some extra pounds that have been put on around the hip, back, stomach, thighs, booty areas? 

Well… after a week and a day, the answer to that question is yes. 

So far.

I have been to three cycling classes at 5:15 in the morning. I have surprised myself, my husband, my in-laws and myself (again). I have shocked my husband so much that he demanded to get up and go to the Y with me the first time to make sure I went. Now, he goes just to enjoy my company at 5 a.m. 

HA! 

I can already tell a difference … No, the extra pounds are still there, but I’d say that making it through a class without passing out, like I did in the first class (no lie), counts as a small victory! 

So… three classes down. Only 18 more classes to go until the habit is formed (I’ve been told it takes 21 days to form a habit so in this case – 21 classes). 

I’ll keep you posted.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The Early Riser

  1. Megan Little

    good for you!!! i am going to need to form a good “habit” like that post baby #2. you are my hero!!

  2. Good for you! Don’t you just feel better about life knowing you’ve accomplished so much by noon? 🙂

  3. Ashley

    I heard it was 30 days to get into a habbit but if it’s 21 maybe I’ll try getting up at 6 am to jog this summer since I can’t do it after work anymore.

  4. Ashley

    I heard it was 30 days to get into a habit but if it’s 21 maybe I’ll try getting up at 6 am to jog this summer since I can’t do it after work anymore.

  5. Ashley

    Sorry didn’t mean to post twice, I was trying to correct my spelling mistake.

  6. Jenna

    Wow … you are now one of those crazies I encountered working at the fitness center! But more power to you, I am very impressed!

  7. Aunt Sally

    Hey girl, I’ve been getting up at 5:15 for an hour workout 4 days a week for years!! If I can do it it should be a piece of cake for you!!! Keep up the good work 🙂

  8. I’m so proud of you Al!! I’ve gotten out of the habit of working out in the morning…and I go at night now….. I think it’s just my fear of dark apartment complexes in the early morning…
    Anyway – Yay for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

