Welcome to the Twittering World…

twitter

I’m still completely confused by this new ‘coolness’ called Twitter. But ofcourse, I had to get a Twitter page. How uncool would I be if I didn’t have one?! (Don’t answer that.)

Apparently everyone from Ashton Kutcher to John Mayer to a fake Rob Pattinson (aka Edward Cullen for you Twilighters) has Twitter. Because it is still my destiny to be friends with a famous person, I really want to become friends with these people on Twitter.

But I don’t know how!

I have searched for them, but there are about 30-1,433 different Ashton Kutcher profiles – which one is the real husband to Demi? I don’t want to add a fake Ashton, obviously! How will I ever get to be BFF’s with him if it’s not the real one?

Back to what I was saying about not understanding Twitter…

I don’t get it.

And unfortunately, the “What?” and “Why?” pages on Twitter don’t really give me much help in the “Understanding of Twitter” department.

I feel like if I want to ask alot people a question, I will facebook them, text them, e-mail them. Not login to Twitter and send them a ‘tweet’.

But I am all about this social networking mumbo jumbo. It has become a part of my job, which makes the days a bit more bearable as we roll to the home stretch of the upcoming Riverfest (the one in which I will get to meet, shake hands, hug, maybe kick back and have a Corona, meet the fam and maybe sing some tunes with Pat Green — this is my start to becoming good pals with a famous person!).

Riverfest appoints an Admiral every year – this person serves as the face and spokesperson for the Festival. Usually this person has been a long-time volunteer or a person that the Festival is deeply indebted to and the best way to pay him/her back is to name him/her the Admiral.

Anywho…

This year’s Admiral, Mr. Dave Carter, has become our guinea pig. I got him set up with a Facebook page (which he loves) and just recently, he started his blog (which I added to my blogroll). He is very up for all of it, which makes it fun! We also have him set up for a Twitter page, which if it’s confusing to me, I guarantee it might be a bit confusing for Dave.  My favorite times of the day are when Dave calls to ask me how to send a message out to a specific person on Facebook!

So we will see how this all works out. I think you all should go out and get a Twitter page so we can ‘tweet’ to each other all day long…

Why and how, you ask?

I have no idea!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Welcome to the Twittering World…

  1. Tessa

    Okay, we shall go to lunch and I will show you how to use Twitter. But, to answer your questions:

    Ashton Kutcher – aplusk
    Demi Moore – mrskutcher
    John Mayer – johncmayer

    Good Twitter accounts:
    heartspring
    tulsachamber
    deniseneil
    redrita
    katie_grover
    toddblog

  2. Jenna

    Wow, good thing you have Tessa around!
    Question I’ve been pondering: are you going to tell Pat Green that you danced to his song at your wedding??

  3. Abby :)

    Hey Allyson!

    This is Abby ( A.k.A Your awesome cousin ) 🙂
    Well i was just reading and wanted you to know that i have a Twitter to! I have you as one of the people that i follow so I don’t know if you can see that but if you can’t try to find me! 🙂 🙂

  4. Ashley

    I refuse to get a twitter page, although I think I started one and forgot to shut it off. I don’t ever update it, nor do I remember how to sign on again.

Leave a Reply

