Missin’ Sports Info…

I love this time of year! The birds are chirping, the sun is shining and the NCAA Basketball Tournament is in full swing!

The past three years of my life I have been a bit more involved with the tournament because of work. Last year when I was at ORU, I actually went to the tournament with the women’s team… and was in the presence of the one of the greatest basketball coaches to grace the sport in Pat Summitt. So that was cool.

Two years before that, I spent many-a-nights in the confines of the WSU Media Relations office preparing hundreds after hundreds of post-season media guides for the men’s team… because they kept winning and winning in the tournament, making it all the way to the Sweet 16.  And what did I get for my numerous hours of dedication to the project? A t-shirt.

Like I said, it's better than nothing...

Like I said, it's better than nothing...

Better than nothing, I guess!

This year is a bit different for me. It’s the first time that I find myself not working in college athletics and at this time of year, it feels very strange!

You see, when you work in college athletics (or athletics in general), it’s normal to turn the TV on to ESPN or to any game that is on because it’s a part of your job to keep tabs on other teams… so I say.

During March Madness, it was completely inappropriate to have the TV on any other channel than CBS.

Well, watch games on TV or PLAY games on TV...

Well, watch games on TV or PLAY games on TV...

Well, the tables have turned now that I am no longer working in sports. I’m in the ‘real world’ now and finding a way to listen to games (no longer can I watch them unless I secretly watch on cbssports.com!) has become a bit more difficult. I share an office with someone and though I know Sherri probably doesn’t care that I will be listening to basketball games from 11:30 a.m. until the end of the work day every day for the next 2 weeks, I’m sure it doesn’t thrill her that she’ll have to listen to it as well!

We are on day two of the 16-day event and I finished yesterday 13-of-16 on my picks – thanks alot to Butler, Mississippi State and Clemson for nothing. I feel fairly confident in my picks today. I will not reveal my picks for I know that I will get angry comments (or just angry thoughts) sent my way… so I will leave it at that.

All I will say is that I am cheering for a team today whom I witnessed play three times in my lifetime and while in the town that they are located in, I almost lost my fingers, toes and noes to frostbite for being outside longer than five minutes.

You know who you are.

Whoever could this be?!

Whoever could this be?!

Go team!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Missin’ Sports Info…

  1. I am actually enjoying March Madness and not being in it this year! The Jackrabbits kicked the crap out of TCU last night and I love seeing my alma mater Iowa State kick the crap out of anyone! Too bad it won’t be Tenn. this year.

Leave a Reply

