The Tale of the Missing Ring

Matthew and I ventured down to the booming metropolis of Udall, Kan., Friday night to watch the Sedan Blue Devils punish the Udall Eagles in an SCBL battle. Also to watch Michael, Matt’s brother, coach, which is always entertaining!

It’s only a 45 minute drive from Wichita to Udall, so we met up with Patty and went down together. The evening was glorious as both the girls and guys teams left with wins under their belts, we got to see Chelsi (Michael’s girlfriend) and we got to see Michael give Patty the “Mom, if you don’t stop yelling, so help me God…” look – all in all, a good Friday night!

Patty had picked me up from to take me to the game, so I had left my car at work. She dropped me and Michael (who was bunking out at our house Friday night) off at the car and westward we went back to the house (another reason I can’t wait to move to the east side of town … the west side is SO far away!).

We pulled up and Matt was standing in the garage with a very quizzical look on his face. We walked inside and I asked him what was wrong. “I can’t find my wedding ring!” he says.

You’d think I would be mad, but really the only thing going through my head was, “Ha! ha! Atleast you lost yours before I lost mine!” (Sounds rude, but I’m the worlds worst with holding on to jewelry so I was happy to say that I have not lost my wedding band or ring yet!)

We retraced his steps from the beginning of the day. He called his dad to see if he would look in his vehicle for it and it was nowhere to be found. He knew he had had it on at the basketball game, but after that… not so sure.

I kept thinking to myself how glad I was that Matt had told me not to buy him a ring that cost an obscene amount of money because if I had spent even a quarter of what he had spent on my ring(s), I would have been having a nervous breakdown in search of that ring!

The next day came and we went about our business, still trying to figure out where it could have gone. I went to Newman to work the basketball games and at 4:30, I got a voicemail.

The ring had been found!

I had set out an air mattress to be blown up for Michael on Thursday evening and when Matt was rolling it out to air it up, he realized it the wrong one. Somewhere in between the rolling up of the air mattress, his ring fell off. He said that he unrolled the air mattress and there it was… He was a happy man again!

It’s funny… I never really thought that his ring mattered that much to him. Not because our marriage means nothing but because he’s a guy — he takes it off to play basketball in the mornings and doesn’t wear it when he’s out working at the farm. Plus his dad very rarely wears his because of work… So I just assumed that to him, it was just a piece of metal.

So when the ring went missing, seeing how upset it made him, and then when it was found and how happy he was, reminded me that though the ring is ‘just a piece of metal’, it’s also means something more…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

