And another…

I love these things!

1. Did you date someone from your school?
Yes, yes I did. I also ended up marrying someone from my school. This was after I turned down a proposal my freshman year of high school from Javen Moore.

2. Did you marry someone from your high school?
OOPS… refer to question 1.

My Short Husband (hard to miss!)

My Short Husband (hard to miss!)

3. Did you car pool to school?
Car pooling suggests that it took more than 10 minutes to get to school so it would be smart to save gas by piling people into one vehicle.

My parents both worked at the school and from ages 6-15, I rode with them. Once I was legal to drive, I drove my dad’s Ford Eddie Bauer truck the 1.2 mile drive to the gym parking lot.

4. What kind of car did you have?
I never actually owned a car in high school – I just drove my dad’s truck around. Somehow, my brother got a truck (it might have been a 1985 Chevy, but that is besides the point!) before I got ANYTHING! It was an exciting day though when Jenna pulled up with her own vehicle… do you remember that thing?!

5. What kind of car do you have now?
I drive a 2001 black Honda Accord. My previous vehicle, a 1998 white Pontiac Grand Am was drove into the ground when I made my constant voyages to Wichita to see the guy that I married in question 1.

6. It’s Friday night…where are you now?
Spending my hard-earned money at Target!

7. It is Friday night…where were you then?
Playing in whatever sport was in season and then cheering afterwards! Go Blue Devils!

8. What kind of job did you have in high school?
I was a lifeguard slash baby sitter to the many pool rats that live in Sedan Township.

9. What kind of job do you do now?
I am a communications manager for a non-profit group that produces the largest Festival in the state of Kansas!

10. Were you a party animal?
If you consider someone who played Pitch, watched movies and chugged Coca Cola (with a mix of Diet Coke – I was crazy!) a party animal… then YES I WAS!

)

This is probably the first time we all had alcohol together. 🙂

11. Were you considered a flirt?
I would really like to say that I wasn’t. But I have a feeling that others might think differently. I still say that I don’t even know to flirt… but apparently laughing at someone (even when it’s a fake laugh and you just feel bad for them!) is considered flirting!

12. Were you in band, orchestra, or choir?
HEY… band was the cool thing to do for awhile! And I mean seriously, who would have wanted to miss Michael Clark doing the ‘Jaws’ impression in the middle of our Spring concert. NOT ME!

13. Were you a nerd?
It’s funny… I’m not sure if I would have classified myself as a nerd. But if you asked my husband today, he would probably tell me that me and my friends were nerds. Only because no one was as cool as him and his friends (HA!).

I reminded him, after our wedding, of how many of my high school buddies showed up to our wedding and how many of his showed up. Yep, that shut him up!

Thanks friends – you know who you are!

14. Did you get suspended or expelled?
Yeah right… if I had ever gotten suspended or expelled, I would be living in a black hole somewhere far, far away. When you have two parents in the education system, one being the head honcho, it was easier just to be one of the ‘good kids’.

15. Can you sing the fight song?
Hear we go! “Go Blue Devils! Go Blue Devils! Win this game tonight. Go Blue Devils! Go Blue Devils! Show how we can fight – FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT! We will cheer the white and the blue. To Sedan, we’ll always be true. Hail! Hail! The gang’s all here as we march on to victor-r-r-r-y!”

Would you like me to perform the fight song routine as well?!

16. Who was/were your favorite teacher(s)?
I enjoyed Mrs. Beason in grade school because she brought her guitar to school – we sang alot of John Denver songs back then! Mrs. Laster, Miss Shoup, Mrs. Swendson (now Green), Mr. Swendson, Mr. Sagastizado … WAIT, take that last one back.

17. Where did you sit during lunch?
If Jenna and I weren’t scooting over to my dad’s office to catcha ride to D’Angelo’s, I was usually sitting in the hallway, eating a bagel with butter (that’s what my mom always made me – strange now that I think about it!). This ‘sitting in the hallway’ always had a point – it was to get first view of cute boys walking up the stairs after they were returning from the cafeteria, which I never vistited after 6th grade!

18. What was your school’s full name?
Sedan High School

19. When did you graduate?
2001

20. What was your school mascot?
Blue Devils

21. If you could go back and do it again, would you?
Somedays, yes… Life (though it didn’t seem like it at the time) was so much easier! I’d also like to go back and be a fly on the wall to see what I acted like around Matt… I’d also like to go back and replay some of my life so I didn’t act so needy!

Look at the kid on the extreme left. HA! (You can also see Jenna in this picture!)
Someone put these pictures up on Facebook. Look at the kid on the extreme right. HA! (You can also see Jenna in this picture!)

22. Did you have fun at Prom?
I LOVED Prom! How could you not enjoy one night a year getting completely decked out, having fun with your friends, and doing things that still to this day, you are reminded not to do. “Allyson, please do not play with your veil when you are walking down the aisle. It’s not wings!”

23. Do you still talk to the person you went to Prom with?
Nope… kind of sad! I saw the guy I went to junior prom with in October and he said MAYBE three words to me (found out he was proposing to his girlfriend the next day, so that makes a little more sense!). And the guy I went to senior prom with I haven’t seen in YEARS! Where the heck is Larry Kirchner? Anyone?!

24. Are you planning on going to your next reunion?
Ofcourse! Hopefully we’ll have a better attendance than we did the first time around. Thank goodness for Facebook – I think that will help get the word out a bit better!

25. Do you still talk to people from school?
Yep, I made such great friends in school… My mom always told me that your best friends would be the ones you meet in college. How lucky am I that I got it both ways!

26. School Colors?
Royal blue and white

27. What celebrities came from your high school?
I ‘ve made a fes cameo appearances on ESPN. Jenna will probably be on the show “17 Kids and Counting” sometime soon. If Lacy isn’t on some sort of reality TV show in her lifetime, something has went wrong. I’m sure there have been a few people on “America’s Most Wanted”. My mom (graduated from Sedan in 1975) was on the Wichita news a few weeks ago, playing the organ at church, and my dad was on the Wichita news a few years ago when some morans burglarized the school.

And this just in: Matt Clark, featured in a Coleman commercial– check it out! 

Other than that, I’m drawing a blank!

SHS Grads

SHS Grads

I’m proud of my school and wish that those that are there now took more pride in it. It was a great place to go to school and I made many, many, many memories that will last me a lifetime!

And speaking of high school… be on the lookout for a video of the Sedan cheerleaders performing the dance I taught them! They perform tomorrow night and my goal is to video it and post it on here!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “And another…

  1. Jana

    Hey Allyson! Thanks for bringing back lots of memories!! –:)

  2. Ashley

    I will probably be copying these questions and putting them in my blog since I love these things as well! And I can totally relate to No. 11 since I was one of those who laughed at everything as well.

  3. Jenna

    These are fun (to respond to)!
    #4: Yes! But it didn’t last long before it became charcoal 😦
    #10: What a cute pic … we all look so civilized.
    #13: Low blow, but so true!
    #21: What was I wearing? I’m so confused.
    #22: “Don’t play with your earring … ” 🙂
    #26: Correction — my school colors were columbia blue and white 😉
    #27: I’m going to ignore that comment about me because Matt totally sold me on those tents — before I fell out of my chair laughing!

Leave a Reply

