Quite a Day…

Inauguration Day

Inauguration Day

I have always been one that enjoys the history behind things. I love the feeling that you get when you are somewhere that has a past.

I really tried to soak up everything while we were in London. I imagined Princess Diana walking up the steps of St. Paul’s Cathedral the day of her wedding as I walked up those same steps. I pictured Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix zipping down the River Thames as we took our cruise down the same river! 🙂

I did the same when were were in Boston a few years ago. When we made our way around and into Fenway Park, it was crazy to think that I was in the same place that Ted Williams had played. Also the same place that Drew Barrymore and Jimmy Fallon filmed portions of ‘Fever Pitch’!

Yesterday, I watched the Inauguration ceremonies, starting around 10:30 a.m. on my computer. And I kid you not, when the camera spanned out from the Capital to the Washington Monument, the only thing I could do was drop my jaw. The amount of people that had packed into the space between those two historical icons was absolutely amazing and actually, quite breathtaking.

I am not one that gets into politics. Partially because I have ABSOLUTELY no clue what anyone is talking about when they start debating politics, but also because when the debating does start, I never, never, ever have any kind of comebacks or defenses to what the debater is debating.

I can tell you that the only reason my voter registration card reads ‘Republican’ is because when I registered to vote my senior year in high school, I knew my parents were Republican, so why shouldn’t I be?

Though I didn’t vote for John McCain just because I’m a Republican or because he looked like my grandpa and my grandpa was smart so therefore John McCain must be smart… I voted for him because that was what my gut told me to do. I go with my gut on many decisions I have made in my life!

So even though I was not jumping for joy like millions of people in America were when Obama won the election, I will tell you that I was completely intrigued by his win. And it all goes back to the beginning of my story…

I love the history behind things. So yesterday when I was watching the Inauguration, I couldn’t help but get caught up in what was happening. I loved watching the shots of the Capital building yesterday … I remember the summer we visited my aunt and uncle in Maryland and we went to DC for the day. We stood on the steps of the Capital completely alone and completely by ourselves. Yesterday, that area was filled to the brim.

Though I was happy to watch the action from the comforts of my office, I was a bit jealous of those that were in Washington yesterday. I know I wouldn’t have been able to stand the shoulder-to-shoulder people all day long, but to be able to witness the amazing piece of history that occurred, I would have done it.

I wish the Obama family all the luck in the world…

Sidenote: I also want to tell Michelle Obama that her choice in clothing has been superb. Great choice of dress for the actual inauguration ceremony!

It always goes back to the fashion…

Michelle Obama

Michelle Obama

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Quite a Day…

  1. Jenna

    Agreed! I got online Tuesday not to read the big speech or anything “important,” but to see what Michelle wore 🙂

  2. Lori

    Why does Michelle always look irritated?

  3. Aunt Sally

    I loved the inaugural dress but did not like the gown she wore at the ball. Talk about unspectacular. Looked like she found it on the rack at T.J. Max.

Leave a Reply

